Sick for a few seconds

Last Wednesday was sports night. My off was spent watching several olympic games and cheering Ginebra all the way until they beat Air 21 to the championship. This was to my delight since I won a bet with H which involves a foot spa and a pedicure. It was finally time for H to leave when his pick up became uncooperative and just stood still there for minutes, refusing to start. Seeing that H was starting to sweat bullets (literally and figuratively), I decided to call my dad. He checked the battery and came to the decision to switch H’s battery with our car’s battery. I stood there, watching my dad dismantle H’s battery and replace it with ours’ while the mosquitoes are having a blast sucking the blood on my legs. This went on for almost an hour but to no avail since our battery’s too small to handle H’s pick up. The last resort would be to call a mechanic in the wee hours of the evening. So off we went to the mechanic’s house, back to our house, only to hear the mechanic say that we can’t do anything about H’s dead battery since we won’t be able to find a new battery that late in the evening. So we had no choice but to send the mechanic home, drop H at their house and their pick up stayed at our house. I was supposed to be on straight duty the following day (7am til 10pm) but figured I won’t be able to wake up on time so I begged asked my co manager to vouch in for me, that he’ll be the opening manager instead and he can have his off the next day.

The following day, they were able to bring H’s pick up back to life with the help of two other mechanics. I went to work, had a few chats with my co manager about the whole turmoil the previous night, went to check our telephone bill to check unauthorized long distance calls made by our crews, then started feeling really ill. My head started to ache really bad and several pukes to the toilet later, I made the decision to go home. I will just be an unproductive burden to everyone in the store if I will stay there, lying, vomiting and whining on how bad my head aches. I had to puke one last time on my way home. I was feeling so bad I did not argue with tricycle driver when he was asking for P30 wherein I should only be paying himP25. If I wasn’t feeling well that driver won’t get away with charging me P5 more but I didn’t have the energy to argue with him, I just gave him P30 and went straight to bed. I din’t know you could get sick just like that and I didn’t know the pain would go away just like that. After I woke up I was feeling ok already.

Leave a Reply

